RMC Constituency Advisory Board Meets, Officers Elected

RMC Constituency Advisory Board Meets, Officers Elected

ORANGEBURG, S.C. – December 13, 2022 – The inaugural meeting of the Constituency Advisory Board of the Regional Medical Center of Orangeburg & Calhoun Counties was held on Tuesday, November 22, 2022, at the Orangeburg County Library.

The enabling ordinances approving the partnership between the Regional Medical Center (RMC) and the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) included changes in Board structure. In addition to an 11-member Board of Trustees, an 18-member Constituency Advisory Board was established to provide input and policy recommendations to the Board of Trustees based on identified healthcare needs of areas served by RMC. The Constituency Advisory Board does not have governance power or authority related to RMC.

During the November meeting, Constituency Advisory Board members elected officers. John E. McLauchlin Jr., who serves as the administrator for Calhoun County, was elected chair; Labrena Aiken-Furtick, Chief Operating Officer of CASA Family Systems, will serve as vice chair; and serving as secretary is Dr. Stefanie Gadson-Brown, Dean of Healthcare Preparation & Workforce at Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College.

“This group was designed to serve as a voice for the citizens who RMC serves,” said RMC Constituency Advisory Board Chair John McLauchlin Jr. “We will be relaying what we learn directly to the RMC Board of Trustees and look forward to working with the Board to ensure those voices are heard.”

House District 95 Representative Gilda Cobb-Hunter was also present at the meeting and thanked the Advisory Board for using their positions to support RMC’s mission.

Of the 18 agencies, 17 were represented at the inaugural meeting. The ordinance passed by both County Councils (Orangeburg and Calhoun) designated the following agencies as members of the Constituency Advisory Board:

  • Harold M. Young Orangeburg County Administrator
  • John E. McLauchlin Jr. (Chair) Calhoun County Administrator
  • Natashia Smith, PhD & Bryant Williams Orangeburg Area Mental Health Center
  • Mike Dennis Tri-County Commission on Alcohol & Drug Abuse
  • Charlene Nimmons & Lakieba Brooks-Leach South Carolina Department of Social Services
  • Bridgette H. Zimmerman South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice
  • Vonda Steward South Carolina Department of Disabilities & Special Needs
  • Dr. Stefanie Gadson-Brown (Secretary) & Candace Tooley Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
  • Karen Myers Denmark Technical College
  • Shannon B. Smith, DNP, APRN, ACNS-BC, CNE Claflin University
  • Melanie Jones HopeHealth  Labrena Aiken-Furtick (Vice Chair) CASA Family Systems
  • Dr. Louis Whitesides South Carolina State University 1890 Research & Extension
  • Dr. Shawn Foster Orangeburg County School District Superintendent
  • Dr. Ferlondo J. Tullock Calhoun County School District Superintendent
  • Lee L. Given Orangeburg County Development Commission 
  • Demetrius Hardy YMCA – Orangeburg County  Family Health Centers