Page Title

Ownership and Governance


Page Content

Ownership and Governance

A nonprofit medical facility located in Orangeburg, South Carolina, the Regional Medical Center (RMC) is owned by Orangeburg and Calhoun counties. Regional Medical Center is governed by a 17-member Board of Trustees representing both counties.

The Regional Medical Center’s not-for-profit status ensures that remaining finances after expenses are legally committed to improving Regional Medical Center’s patient services, technology and facilities.

The Board of Trustees represents a broad spectrum of professional, business and community leaders and is dedicated to offering the community the best possible, most cost-efficient care available.

The Board of Trustees are appointed by members of Orangeburg and Calhoun County Councils. Board meetings are held monthly. Following is a list of the current board members:

Board of Trustees

Orangeburg County Members




Gladys G. Arends
(District 3)
    Rocco D. Cassone, MD
Vice Chairman
(District 6) 
    Sonya Kay Ehrhardt,
(District 4) 
  Dion L. Franga, MD, FACS, RPVI
(At Large) 
  Betty W. Henderson
(At Large)
  Gloria M. James, PhD
(District 1)
  James L. Myers, PhD
(At Large) 
Mohammad S. Nassri, MD
(At Large)
  Rev. Dr. Caesar R. Richburg
(District 5)
  Melvin Seabrooks
(District 2)
  John A. Shuler
(At Large) 
  William H. Wilson
(District 7)

Calhoun County Members

  Milton W. Dufford
2018 Trustee of the Year
  Cynthia D. Keller
  Kenneth T. Rickenbaker

Chief of Medical Staff and MEC

  Vann Beth M. Shuler, MD
(Chief of Medical Staff)
    Franklin C. Coulter, MD
(Chairman, Medical Staff Executive Committee) 

You may contact any of the board members through Regional Medical Center administration at (803) 395-2450.

Chief Executive Officer

The chief executive officer (CEO) is accountable to the board for implementing hospital policies and managing the facility’s day-to-day operations.

President & CEO

Charles E. Williams, MBA, MOT, FACHE