Board of Trustees

A nonprofit medical facility located in Orangeburg, South Carolina, Regional Medical Center (RMC) is owned by Orangeburg and Calhoun counties. Regional Medical Center is governed by a 17-member Board of Trustees representing both counties.

Regional Medical Center’s not-for-profit status ensures that remaining finances after expenses are legally committed to improving Regional Medical Center’s patient services, technology and facilities.

The Board of Trustees represents a broad spectrum of professional, business and community leaders and is dedicated to offering the community the best possible, most cost-efficient care available.

The Board of Trustees are appointed by members of Orangeburg and Calhoun County Councils. Board meetings are held monthly. Following is a list of the current board members:

Board of Trustees

Orangeburg County Members

Frank Coulter, MD (At Large)

Portrait of Sonya Kay Ehrhardt, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CPHQ
Sonya Kay Ehrhardt, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CPHQ(District 4)

Protrait of Samantha E. Farlow-Moyd, Esq.
Samantha D. Farlow-Moyd, Esq. (At Large)

Portrait of Betty W. Henderson
Betty W. Henderson(District 3)

Portrait of Gloria M. James, PhD
Gloria M. James, PhD (District 1)

Portrait of Mohammad S. Nassri, MD
Mohammad S. Nassri, MD (At Large)

Yvonne Johnson, EdD (District 6)

Portrait of Rev. Dr. Caesar R. Richburg
Rev. Dr. Caesar R. Richburg Chairman
(District 5)

Portrait of Melvin Seabrooks
Melvin Seabrooks (District 2)

Portrait of John A. Shuler
John A. Shuler (At Large)

Terri L. Tyler- Franklin (At Large)

Portrait of William H. Wilson
William H. Wilson(District 7)

Calhoun County Members

Portrait of Cynthia D. Keller
Cynthia D. Keller

Boyd McLeod, III

Chief of Medical Staff and MEC

John H. Samies, MD(Chief of Medical Staff)

Vann Beth M. Shuler, MD(Chairman, Medical Staff Executive Committee)

You may contact any of the board members through Regional Medical Center administration at 803-395-2450.

Chief Executive Officer: The chief executive officer (CEO) is accountable to the board for implementing hospital policies and managing the facility’s day-to-day operations.

President & CEO: David M. Southerland, MHA, FACHE